Mondays With Maya: 5 Signs Your Throat Chakra is Blocked, And How to Use the Guru Ram Das Mantra

Mondays With Maya: 5 Signs Your Throat Chakra is Blocked, And How to Use the Guru Ram Das Mantra

Sat nam!

Have you ever been in the situation where you felt like your voice was literally stifled—when you wanted to use your voice to speak up for yourself, but somehow you couldn't? 

The throat chakra, or fifth chakra, is located at the base of the throat. It gives voice to your personal truths. When it’s out of alignment, you might feel like your needs aren’t being heard or understood, or like you’re being ignored when you try to express your true feelings.

Learn more about all seven chakras here.

When the throat chakra is blocked or the energy feels imbalanced, you might notice a few side effects in your body and emotional state. Physically, it might show up like:

  • Chronic sore throats, laryngitis, hoarse voice
  • Dental issues or TMJ
  • Neck pain

Emotionally, you might feel:

  • Creatively blocked
  • Anxious
  • Stubborn
  • Detached

There are so many Kundalini mantras that you can use to activate your throat chakra, but one of my favorites is the Guru Ram Das mantra. It’s a beautiful mantra that promotes self-healing, protective grace, and emotional relief. It works incredibly well because the first part of the mantra, Guru Guru Wahe Guru, projects the mind to the Infinite source of knowledge and ecstasy. The second part, Guru Ram Das Guru, means “the wisdom that comes as a servant of the Infinite.”

These two parts catalyze the kundalini energy through the body and clear every chakra. This mantra is especially important because it gives you emotional relief when you feel like you can’t speak your truth.

Do this exercise to help align the throat chakra so you can really speak your truth! Come and sit in a comfortable position. Breathe. Then repeat the mantra Guru Guru Wahe Guru Guru Ram Das Guru as fast as you can 108 times.

You can learn more about this very important chakra—and the rest of the seven chakras—in the Maya Fiennes Method seven-week program. Each week, I focus on clearing blockages from each chakra by teaching you movements and meditations that take just seven minutes a day.

Learn more about the Maya Fiennes Method here.

Try it out, and let me know how it goes by sending me a message on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram. I want to hear how it goes!

Until next week,


Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.